CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE



SECRETARY OF THE SENATE ERIKA CONTRERAS

DEPUTY SECRETARIES SHEILA BRAVERMAN TONI BRENNER JOHN NAM

COMMITTEE ASSISTANT JOCELYN TWILLA

SIE

SENATE RULES COMMITTEE

MIKE MCGUIRE CHAIR

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2025 Upon Adjournment of the Senate Contingent of the Joint Committee on Rules 1021 O STREET, ROOM 2200

AGENDA

GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEE(S)

- 1. GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES REQUIRED TO APPEAR
 - A. KIRK HAYNES, Member, Board of State and Community Corrections
 - B. ERIC TAYLOR, Member, Board of State and Community Corrections
 - C. KIM JOHNSON, Secretary, California Health and Human Services Agency
- 2. GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES NOT REQUIRED TO APPEAR

D. HEATHER BERNIKOFF, Member, California Exposition and State Fair Board of Directors

BILL REFERRALS

3. Reference of Bills to Committees

RULE WAIVER REQUEST(S)

- 4. Request by Senate President pro Tempore McGuire to suspend SR 55(c) to allow Helen Iris Torres (Chief Executive Officer, Hispanas Organized for Political Equity) in the Senate Chamber during session on Monday, February 10, for a floor acknowledgement in recognition of being a recipient of the 2025 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award FLOOR ACKNOWLEDGEMENT(S)
- 5. Request by Senator Ashby for floor introductions during session on Thursday, February 6, of Sacramento CASA Chapter Executive Director, Carol Noreen and Associate Director, Kelly Donato; and California CASA Association officers: Connie Hwang (Chief Philanthropy Officer) and Sharon Lawrence (Chief Executive Officer), to honor their efforts as court appointed special advocates
- 6. Request by Senate President pro Tempore McGuire for floor introductions during session on Monday, February 10, of nine 2025 Irvine Foundation Leadership Awardees in recognition of Californians advancing innovative and effective solutions to pressing issues facing our state
- 7. Request by Senator Cortese for a resolution presentation during session on Friday, February 14, to Jim Spering, who recently retired from the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, to recognize his contributions to the Bay Area's transportation system, and for being the longest-serving member of the commission
- 8. Request by Senator Cortese for a resolution presentation during session on Monday, March 24, to Luis Valdez Academy staff: Cynthia Torres, Viviana Cruz, Josie Silva, Vince Monroy, and Griselda Gonzalez; Dr. Sherry Segura, CEO, Hispanic Education Foundation; and independent contractors Pete Carrillo and Magdalena Carrasco, to recognize the Academy for equipping students with skills

VICE-CHAIR SHANNON GROVE MEMBERS BRIAN W. JONES JOHN LAIRD ELOISE GOMEZ REYES for social and academic success (8 in gallery)

EXECUTIVE SESSION