CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

VICE-CHAIR SHANNON GROVE MEMBERS JOHN LAIRD ROSILICIE OCHOA BOGH LOLA SMALLWOOD-CUEVAS



SECRETARY OF THE SENATE
ERIKA CONTRERAS

DEPUTY SECRETARIES
SHEILA BRAVERMAN
TONI BRENNER
GAIL LANG
JOHN NAM

COMMITTEE ASSISTANT
CHINOOK SHIN

TONI G. ATKINS

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 16, 2023 1:30 PM 1021 O STREET, ROOM 2200

AGENDA

GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEE(S)

- 1. GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES REQUIRED TO APPEAR
 - A. GIDEON KRACOV, J.D., Member, South Coast Air Quality Management District
 - B. LAUREL FIRESTONE, J.D., Member, State Water Resources Control Board
 - C. JACK S. WEISS, J.D., Commissioner, Board of Parole Hearings
- 2. GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES NOT REQUIRED TO APPEAR
 - D. DENISE KADARA, Member, Water Quality Control Board, Central Valley Region
 - E. SEAN YANG, Member, Water Quality Control Board, Central Valley Region
 - F. BEATRIZ (BEA) GONZALEZ, Member, Water Quality Control Board, Colorado River Basin Region
 - G. PETER M. SATIN, Member, Water Quality Control Board, Colorado River Basin Region
 - H. KIMBERLY COX, D.P.A., Member, Water Quality Control Board, Lahontan Region
 - I. AMY L. HORNE, Ph.D., J.D., Member, Water Quality Control Board, Lahontan Region
 - J. SABRINA D. ASHJIAN, J.D., Member, Water Quality Control Board, Los Angeles Region
 - K. MICHAEL A. MÉNDEZ, Ph.D., Member, Water Quality Control Board, Los Angeles Region
 - L. HECTOR A. BEDOLLA, Member, Water Quality Control Board, North Coast Region

BILL REFERRALS

3. Reference of Bills to Committees

FLOOR ACKNOWLEDGEMENT(S)

- 4. Request by Senator McGuire for floor introductions during session on Thursday, August 17, of Coach Bill Foltmer and the Middletown High School Football Team, in coordination with a resolution presentation in honor of Coach Foltmer receiving the State Coach of the Year for 11-man football and a 300th career win in 2022, finishing last season with 301 career victories, 282 at Middletown (8 guests on the floor)
- 5. Request by Senator Nguyen for floor introductions during session on Monday, August 21, of Huntington Beach Mayor and former Senator Tony Strickland, and Mayor Pro Tem Gracey Van der Mark; City of Seal Beach Mayor Tom Moore, City of Dana Point Mayor Mike Frost, and City of Laguna Beach Councilmember Alex Rounaghi, in recognition of California Surf Day, in coordination with a resolution presentation (5 guests on the floor)
- 6. Request by the Office of California Senate Fellows for a resolution presentation floor ceremony on Monday, August 21, for the outgoing class of 2022-2023 Senate Fellows (18 guests on the floor)
- 7. Request by Senator Umberg for floor introductions during session on Thursday, August 24, of 20 students in the 34th Senate District's Young Senators Program who will be visiting the Capitol for a tour and mock bill hearing (20 guests in the gallery)
- 8. Request by Senator Atkins for floor introductions during session on Monday, August 28, of California State University (CSU) Interim Chancellor Jolene Koester, her husband, Ron Lustig; and CSU Board of Trustees Chair Wenda Fong, and staff, in recognition of Chancellor Koester's service leading the CSU as her term comes to a close, in coordination with a resolution presentation (7 guests on the floor)
- 9. Request by Senator Bradford for floor introductions during session on Monday, August 28, of National Black Brewers Association (NB2A) members: Founder and former Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson and Rodg Little of Oak Park Brewery, Executive Director Kevin Asato, Boardmember Teo Hunter of Crown & Hops Brewery, Arthur Moye of Full Circle Brewing Co., and Mario Benjamin of Hella Coastal Brewery; California Craft Brewers Association Executive Director Lori Ajax, Sacramento City Councilmember Rick Jennings, St. HOPE President and CEO Cassandra Jennings, and California Urban Partnership President Malaki Sekt Amen, in coordination with a presentation of SR 47, relative to Black Brewer's Day (10 guests on the floor)
- 10. Request by the Office of the California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) for a resolution presentation floor ceremony on Monday, August 28, for the outgoing class of 2022-2023 CCST Policy Fellows (3 guests on the floor)

EXECUTIVE SESSION