VICE CHAIR SHANNON GROVE

ROSILICIE OCHOA BOGH

Lola Smallwood-Cuevas

MEMBERS

JOHN LAIRD

CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

SECRETARY OF THE SENATE ERIKA CONTRERAS

DEPUTY SECRETARIES
SHEILA BRAVERMAN
TONI BRENNER
GAIL LANG
JOHN NAM

CHINOOK SHIN



TONI G. ATKINS

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2023 1:30 PM 1021 O STREET, ROOM 2200 AGENDA

GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEE(S)

- 1. GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES REQUIRED TO APPEAR
 - A. JOSEPH W. TYLER, Director, Department of Forestry and Fire Protection
 - B. GAIL A. WILLIS, Ed.D., Member, State Personnel Board
 - C. JULIE A. LEE, Member, Delta Stewardship Council
- 2. GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES NOT REQUIRED TO APPEAR
 - D. SHASHIKALA DEB, J.D., Member, University of California, College of the Law, San Francisco, Board of Directors
 - E. ANDREW W. HOUSTON, J.D., Member, University of California, College of the Law, San Francisco, Board of Directors
 - F. LELAND (LEE) C. ADAMS, III, Member, Commission on State Mandates

BILL REFERRALS

3. Reference of Bills to Committees

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENT(S)

4. Appoint Senator Allen as a member of the Joint Legislative Committee on Climate Change Polices

SELECT COMMITTEE REQUEST(S)

- 5. Create the Senate Select Committee on Bay Area Public Transit composed of 6 members and appoint Senator Wiener as Chair and Senators Dodd, Glazer, McGuire, Skinner, and Wahab as members to fill all vacancies.
- 6. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on California, Armenia and Artsakh Mutual Trade, Art and Cultural Exchange composed of 9 members and appoint Senator Portantino as Chair and Senators Archuleta, Durazo, Hurtado, Jones, Menjivar, Stern, Wiener, and Wilk as members to fill all vacancies.
- 7. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on California-Mexico Cooperation and Dialogue composed of 5 members and appoint Senator Padilla as Chair and Senators Allen, Caballero, Durazo, and Jones as members to fill all vacancies.
- 8. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on California's Wine Industry composed of 11 members and appoint Senators Dodd and McGuire as Co-chairs and Senators Caballero, Eggman, Glazer, Hurtado, Laird, Limón, Min, Seyarto, and Wilk as members to fill all vacancies.

- Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on Career Technology and the New Economy composed of 5
 members and appoint Senator Roth as Chair and Senators Allen, Caballero, Glazer, and Ochoa Bogh as
 members to fill all vacancies.
- 10. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on Hydrogen Energy composed of 7 members and appoint Senator Archuleta as Chair and Senators Allen, Caballero, Jones, Newman, Niello, and Skinner as members to fill all vacancies.
- 11. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on Manufactured Home Communities composed of 6 members and appoint Senator Roth as Chair and Senators Dodd, Limón, McGuire, Umberg, and Wilk as members to fill all vacancies.
- 12. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on Mental Health and Addiction composed of 7 members and appoint Senator Wiener as Chair and Senators Allen, Ashby, Cortese, Menjivar, Newman, and Ochoa Bogh as members to fill all vacancies.
- 13. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on the Nonprofit Sector composed of 7 members and appoint Senator Limón as Chair and Senators Becker, Caballero, Laird, McGuire, Ochoa Bogh, and Smallwood-Cuevas as members to fill all vacancies.
- 14. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on the Ports and Goods Movement composed of 8 members and appoint Senator Gonzalez as Chair and Senators Allen, Bradford, Caballero, Eggman, McGuire, Padilla, and Wahab as members to fill all vacancies.
- 15. Create the Senate Select Committee on School Climate and Student Safety composed of 6 members and appoint Senator Rubio as Chair and Senators Allen, Limón, Ochoa Bogh, Portantino, and Smallwood-Cuevas as members to fill all vacancies.
- 16. Reauthorize the Senate Select Committee on Student Success composed of 9 members and appoint Senator Glazer as Chair and Senators Allen, Cortese, Dodd, Laird, Newman, Nguyen, Ochoa Bogh, and Roth as members to fill all vacancies.
- 17. Create the Senate Select Committee on Transitioning to a Zero-Emission Energy Future composed of 9 members and appoint Senator Newman as Chair and Senators Allen, Archuleta, Caballero, Cortese, Dodd, Min, Menjivar, and Wilk as members to fill all vacancies.

SUBCOMMITTEE RATIFICATION(S)

18. Ratify the Transportation Subcommittee on LOSSAN Rail Corridor Resiliency composed of 5 members and appoint Senator Blakespear as Chair and Senators Limón, Newman, Nguyen, and Umberg as members to fill all vacancies.

FLOOR ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- 19. Request by Senator Cortese for floor introductions during session on Thursday, February 23, of the East Valley Fourth Grade Class (35 individuals from the gallery)
- 20. Request by the Office of International Relations for floor introductions during session on Thursday, February 23, of Consul General of Canada in San Francisco Mr. Rana Sarkar and Consul General of Canada in Los Angeles Mr. Zaib Shaik, who are visiting the Capitol for the first official Canada Day in the Capitol since February 2020
- 21. Request by Senator Wahab for floor introductions during session on Thursday, February 23, of the 2022 California Department of Fish and Wildlife's (CDFW) Picture of the Year Award recipient, Shravan Sundaram; Rajesh Sundaram, his father; Chitra Iyer, his mother; Barbara L. Steinberg, teacher (CTA); Chris Dallas, Central Subregion Representative of the Sierra Nevada Conservancy; and four representatives of CDFW, in coordination with a resolution presentation for winning the Picture of the Year Award

22. Request by Senator Gonzalez for a floor introduction during session on Monday, March 27	7, of the newly-
elected Sheriff of Los Angeles County, Robert G. Luna	-

23. Request by Senator Rubio for a floor introduction during session on Tuesday, February 21, of Brandon Tsay, who helped save multiple lives with his heroic act of wrestling with the Monterey Park shooter in Alhambra

